May 8, 2016

What is vegan at Hungry Jacks Australia?




This list was created to help those who are looking for vegan options. Yes, the company itself isn't vegan and prepares/sells non-vegan products. However, the point of this is to show what can be purchased. Hopefully, a push for more vegan products will have a positive influence on these companies. Feel free to add to the list or remove from the list by commenting on this post. Remember, be kind. We don't need those wearing grumpy pants.

If you want to add or remove to the list, make sure attach a quote, link or photo that proves the change.

Disclaimer: This is an AUSTRALIAN list. Products may be different in other countries. Ingredients and products are always subject to change. This is a guide only. Always check before consuming.


Last updated: 27th January 2017



Burgers:
  • Bread buns
  • The veggie patty itself off the veggie burger.
You can buy a whopper without the meat, cheese and mayonnaise and add extra salad.



Sides:
  • Fries
  • Hash browns
  • Onion rings
  • Angry onions


Condiments:
  • Sweet chilli sauce
Note: the sweet and sour sauce and bbq plum sauce contain eggs.


Drinks:
  • Various soft drinks
  • All frozen soft drinks
  • Orange juice
  • Tea and coffee - with plant milks

22 comments :

  1. Hey Madison,
    The veggie patties at Hungry Jacks still contain calf rennet and are definitely not vegan!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. That's what I thought, as well. I worked there for ages and they changed the patty recipe, so it has calf rennet :(.

      Delete
    2. I work there too, they have not changed the recipe at all. They are legally obliged to list all their ingredients. The patty has no rennet. The cheese does

      Delete
    3. Miss Asha... That's why I ask to remove the cheese and mayo. I just didn't know about the plum sauce... It's a pity that it contains eggs

      Delete
  2. Copied straight from their website: Veggie Patty: Vegetables (56%) (Carrots, Peas, Corn, Potato, Capsicum), Premix (Rice flour, Dehydrated Vegetables, Wheat Flour, Soy Protein, Salt, Thickeners (415,464), Hydrolysed Vegetable Protein (Maize), Flavour Enhancer (635), Herb & Spice Extracts, Colour (100)), Water, Canola Oil, Yeast Extract

    The cheese contains rennet but if you're making it vegan you wouldn't order it with that anyways.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Hungry Jacks chis NOT Vegan (or even vegetarian for that matter)!!!

    To my shock I was told at a Hungry Jacks personally that the seasoning on their unsuspecting chips is actually CHICKEN SALT with CHICKEN extracts!!! Why do they have to do this??? and this is not something you can figure out easily unless you grill their personnel with questions.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Hungry Jacks chips NOT Vegan (or even vegetarian for that matter)!!!

    To my shock I was told at a Hungry Jacks personally that the seasoning on their unsuspecting chips is actually CHICKEN SALT with CHICKEN extracts!!! Why do they have to do this??? and this is not something you can figure out easily unless you grill their personnel with questions.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Their website lists the chicken salt as vegan.

      Delete
    2. I work at hungry jacks and have personally read the ingredients on the 'chicken salt' boxes and the seasoning and fries are definetly vegan

      Delete
  5. Spicy sauce actually contains egg

    ReplyDelete
  6. How is the patty cooked? Fried along with meat patties in the same vat of oil? Same question for the fries, are they cooked/fried in the same vat of oil along with chicken fries or nuggets?

    ReplyDelete
  7. My most recent purchase of the veggie burger I asked for Spicy sauce as usual. The packaging now says 'Contains egg' so I didn't put it on my burger. I don't know how recent this change is but it never used to contain egg (according to the website listing when I first went looking).

    ReplyDelete
  8. Love this site but there is some misleading things which isn't good if you are a vegan. The Veggie Whopper actually contains eggs as does the spicy sauce both listed as vegan above. Also BBQ is vegan as not stated above. This can be confirmed through the latest updated version of the Hungry Jacks nutritional guide. https://www.hungryjacks.com.au/media/24738/nutrition-guide-v166-sep-2016.pdf

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. The veggie whopper recipe hasn't changed, the updated nutrition guide is simply amalgamating the entire veggie whopper nutritional information, ie. the mayo has egg in it. The veggie patty itself is still safe.

      Delete
    2. The veggie patty recipe hasn't changed, the updated nutritional guide simply amalgamates the whole veggie whopper nutritional information, ie. the mayo has egg in it. The veggie patty itself is safe.

      Delete
  9. the spicy sauce contains egg, it even says it on the packaging! i almost ate some because of this list, please be more careful with spreading false information :((

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Removed from the list.

      I do what I can here. I am trying to maintain heaps of pages of vegan products in all different stores and restaurants. I am putting a lot of time and effort into keeping a big free resource open and updated.

      It states above "Ingredients and products are always subject to change. This is a guide only. Always check before consuming.".

      Delete