September 21, 2013

Vegan Groceries at Aldi


LAST UPDATED: 26TH APRIL 2016

* = includes unethical palm oil


Sauces and Spreads:
  • Asian Specialties Thai Red Curry Paste
  • Remano Pasta Sauce – in Traditional Tomato
  • Bramwells Peanut Butter Range 
  • Asia Specialities Lite Coconut Cream
  • Brookdale Premium Topping Passion Mango Flavoured
  • Brookdale Ice Cream Toppings
  • Chefs' Cupboard Vegetable Simply Stock
  • Colway Tomato Sauce
  • Colway Barbeque Sauce
  • Colway Wholegrain Mustard
  • El Tora Medium Salsa Dip Chunky
  • El Tora Mild Salsa Dip Chunky

Misc. Savoury

  • El Tora Original Refried Beans
  • Just Organic Tomato Paste
  • Remano Tomato Paste
  • Bavarian Pretzels

Lollies and Chocolate: 
  • Flirt Blitz Tinned Mints 
  • Flirt Chewing Gum 
  • Dominion Naturals Sour Rainbow Straps
  • Dominion Naturals Sour Stilts
  • Dairy Fine dark chocolate with ChocoAir
  • Moser Roth Finest Dark Chocolate 70% Cocoa

Meat Substitutes:
  • ME'N'U Vegetarian Sausages
  • ME'N'U Vegetarian Burgers

Pasta:

  • Casa Barelli Fettuccine
  • Casa Barelli Penne
  • Casa Barelli Trivelle Spirals

Breads and Crackers:
  • Bakers Life Bakehouse Soy & Linseed bread
  • Bakers Life Raisin Toast
  • Valento Poppy and Sesame Seed Crackers 
  • Damora Whole Wheat Crackers – in Olive Oil and Sea Salt, Sea Salt and Chilli, and Pumpkin and Sunflower Seed. 

Snacks:
  • Westcliff Fruit Puree Spurtz - in Apple, Apple Raspberry & Strawberry, and Apple & Mango.
  • SPC Fruit Crush Ups fruit puree sachets - in Mixed Berry and Strawberry
  • SPC Fruity Jelly Tube - in Raspberry Flavour
  • Hillcrest Bubble Bars - in Vanilla flavour
  • Hillcrest Sesame Snaps
  • Hillcrest Be Good Muesli Bars - in Cranberry flavour
  • Chazoos Noodle Snaks - Lunchbox Ready
  • Blackstone Deli Style Crisps - in Sea Salt and Sea Salt & Balsamic Vinegar
  • Asia Specialties Microwaveable Soups - in Red Curry, Green Curry and Yellow Curry

Cereals:

  • Golden Vale Balanced Right Cereal
  • Golden Vale Bran and Sultanas Cereal

Dips:
  • Deli Originals Spicy Pumpkin Dip (So nice... especially on salad wraps!)
  • Deli Originals Hommus Dip

Drinks:

  • Renberg Guava & Mango Swedish Cider (Liquor Section)
  • Renberg Peach & Passionfruit Swedish Cider (Liquor Section)
  • Renberg Strawberry & Lime Swedish Cider (Liquor Section)
  • Northbrook Sparkling Lemon Mineral Water

Frozen Food:
  • Aldi Frozen Onion Rings 
  • Seasons Pride Super Crunch Chips (Frozen) 


  • Aldi’s own brand of cosmetics and cleaning products are not tested on animals
  • Aldi labels their products with the word “vegan” or “vegetarian” to make it easier.

* = includes unethical palm oil

    48 comments :

    1. Bakers Life Bakehouse Soy & Linseed bread. Labelled with their 'vegetarians vegans' mark, ingredients: Wheat flour (contains vitamins- thiamin, folic acid), water, linseed, kibbled soy, kibbled wheat, baker's yeast, wheat gluten, vinegar, iodised salt, vegetable oil, rye flour, soy flour, emulsifier (481).

      ReplyDelete
      Replies
      1. Hello! Thanks so much. I have just added it to the list :)

        Delete
      2. Now marked Cultured Whey (from Milk). :(

        Delete
    2. Dairy Fine dark chocolate with ChocoAir. (contains no dairy, contrary to brand name). Ingredients: sugar, cocoa mass, cocoa butter, emulsifier (322 from soy), vanilla extract. Labelled with the 'vegetarian' mark only, but I see no animal products in there.

      ReplyDelete
      Replies
      1. Hi there! Thank you so much. I have tried this chocolate... it is really nice. Thanks for pasting the ingredients and giving the exact brand name and label. Makes it so much easier! :)

        Delete
      2. Moser Dark Chocolate states 'may contain milk' so is NOT Vegan!

        Delete
      3. Hi there,
        'May contain milk' does not always necessarily mean that a product isn't vegan. Generally, what this means is that the product has been created on an assembly line alongside other products which do contain milk, or perhaps created using the same machinery.

        Delete
    3. Hi!
      Great list.
      You have listed the Thai red curry paste. I have seen it comes in green and yellow too. Are these not vegan? I thought they were. Or did I miss something?

      ReplyDelete
    4. Hi, the Bramwell's peanut butter may be vegan but it contains palm oil so should be on the ban list IMO.

      ReplyDelete
      Replies
      1. I recently asked about the peanut butter...
        "... ALDI Australia. This product does contain Palm Oil. However the Palm Oil is Certified Sustainable under RSPO. Thanks for posting.

        Delete
    5. Awesome list, so helpful. I may as well as just printed the whole list to take shopping as I copied most of it anyway. Thank you very much :)
      www.thevegantaff.com

      ReplyDelete
    6. Bakehouse bread -Light Rye says Vegan :D

      ReplyDelete
    7. The Goldenvale Ceraeal - Bran & Sultanas says suitable for Vegans :)

      ReplyDelete
    8. What about the Damora Prista Crispbread Original?
      INGREDIENTS: Wheat Flour, Vegetable Oil [Contains Antioxidant (319)], Invert Syrup, Salt, Yeast, Raising Agent (500), Emulsifier (322 From Soy), Malted Barley Flour. Contains Wheat, Soy & Barley. May contain Milk & Sesame.
      I am not sure if any of these ingredients are non-vegan ... I am still new to this! Thanks!!

      ReplyDelete
    9. Unfortunately the Sweet Valley Jelly - in Diced pears in raspberry jelly isn't vegan - it contains colour 120 which is cochineal...even though it says vegan on the packaging..I don't think Sweet Valley were aware..

      ReplyDelete
    10. Hi, Madison! The following are all labelled as vegan by Aldi:

      Asia Specialities Lite Coconut Cream
      Brookdale Premium Topping Passion Mango Flavoured
      Casa Barelli Fettuccine
      Casa Barelli Penne
      Casa Barelli Trivelle Spirals
      Chefs' Cupboard Vegetable Simply Stock
      Colway Tomato Sauce
      Colway Barbeque Sauce
      Colway Wholegrain Mustard
      El Tora Medium Salsa Dip Chunky
      El Tora Mild Salsa Dip Chunky
      El Tora Original Refried Beans
      Just Organic Tomato Paste
      Northbrook Sparkling Lemon Mineral Water
      Remano Tomato Paste
      Renberg Guava & Mango Swedish Cider (Liquor Section)
      Renberg Peach & Passionfruit Swedish Cider (Liquor Section)
      Renberg Strawberry & Lime Swedish Cider (Liquor Section)
      Seasons Pride Super Crunch Chips (Frozen)

      Perhaps one day you may also consider a list for Harris Farm Markets? They now carry a number of vegan products, including Vegan Pizza with Bio Cheese.

      ReplyDelete
    11. I've received confirmation from Aldi on the below products being vegan also:

      Eton biscuits
      Corn flakes
      Blackstone Slow cooked Chips - Sea Salt, Salt & Vinegar, Chilli
      MOSER ROTH - Dark Assortment
      Licorice twists
      Has no chocolate Mud Cake Mix
      Whitemill Vanilla Cake Mix
      Simple 2 minute noodles chicken
      Asia specialities - noodle box
      Deli originals - spicy pumpkin dip, hummus dip
      Bakers life - English muffins, whole meal bread, Raisin toast, whole grain and white wraps
      Seasons pride - wedges, potato jewels
      El tora - taco seasoning, burrito kit

      ReplyDelete
      Replies
      1. Yay! Thank you so much :) I'll add it tonight!

        Delete
    12. hi-i have found vegan colway spicy bbq sauce 500ml.i love it,so nice.bit hot,i love hot food.used it on a salad the other day,delish.thanks.

      ReplyDelete
    13. Bbq sauce, tomato sauce and brook dale chocolate topping all vegan! Also the lime jelly with fruit cups

      ReplyDelete
    14. ME'N'U Vegetarian Sausages - Confirming there are no animal products in this product range.
      ME'N'U Vegetarian Burgers - Confirming there are no animal products in this product range.
      BROOKDALE Ice Cream Topping range - Confirming there are no animal products in this product range.
      BAVARIAN Pretzels - Confirming there are no animal products in this product range.

      ReplyDelete
    15. HI, do you know if the moser roth 70% is still vegan? i read from another source that it used to be but now isn't. looking at the ingredients it contains cocoa mass, sugar, cocoa butter, emulsifier (322 from soy), vanilla extract
      it does say may contain gluten cereals, milk, peanuts and tree nuts but i'm assuming that's just to cover themselves?!

      ReplyDelete
    16. International Cuisine - Cocktail Vegetable Spring Rolls {frozen}
      Ingredients: Pastry [wheat flour, water, salt], Filling [cabbages, carrots, green beans,flat mushrooms,spring onion], Vermicelli [peas, corn starch, water], Soy Protein, Soybean Oil, Salt, Sugar, Cornstarch, Sesame Oil, Pepper.

      I just cooked some up for dinner and they are delicious :)

      ReplyDelete
    17. Hey they also make some really good vegetable spring rolls. The brand name is international cuisine and they're Chinese style spring rolls ��

      ReplyDelete
    18. Does the Hillcrest bubble bars Choc Rainbow have any animal products in it?

      ReplyDelete
    19. I believe Smooze fruit deserts and the snack Veggie Straws are vegan

      ReplyDelete
    20. Is the vegetable stock cubes vegan friendly?

      ReplyDelete
    21. I love this site, thank you!! thank you!!! When might the next up-date be happening ?

      ReplyDelete
    22. Aldi has a complete list on their site
      https://cdn.aldi-digital.co.uk/xn$Qe1ft2qQ65DUuySPzWhsWwag.pdf

      ReplyDelete
    23. Aldi had a complete up to date list online..
      https://cdn.aldi-digital.co.uk/xn$Qe1ft2qQ65DUuySPzWhsWwag.pdf

      ReplyDelete
    24. What of the Season's Pride Corn Fritters ?

      ReplyDelete
    25. Hi, just like to let you know that the Baker’s Life Bakehouse bread's aren't vegan, they have E471

      ReplyDelete
    26. Hi, just like to let you know that the Baker’s Life Bakehouse bread's aren't vegan, they have E471

      ReplyDelete
    27. Does anyone know if Sprinters BBQ chips are vegan? They have 330,631,627 and 160c. It also says they are vegetarian.

      ReplyDelete
    28. Unfortunately nearly everything that appears to be vegan at aldi contains "vegetable oil", which is more than likely palm oil (the main reason the term vegetable oil is used, is to hide that it is palm oil).
      Their new vegan coconut products use coconuts sourced from Indonesia and are highly likely to be picked by slave monkeys, who were often abducted from their mothers while nursing, their mothers killed in the process.

      ReplyDelete
    29. The corale premium baked beans in tomato sauce contain natural flavours, but are marked with Aldi's 'vegetarians vegans' symbol

      ReplyDelete